A Joe Pickett novel from #1 New York Times-bestselling author C.J. Box. 

 It's hours away from darkness with a bitter winter storm raging when Joe Pickett finds himself deep in the forest edging Battle Mountain, shotgun in his left hand, his truck's steering wheel handcuffed to his right—and Lamar Gardiner's arrow-riddled corpse splayed against the tree in front of him. Lamar's murder and the sudden onslaught of the snowstorm warns: Get off the mountain. But Joe knows this episode is far from over. Somewhere in the dense timber, a killer draws back his bowstring—with Joe as his prey. Joe's pursuit of the killer through the rugged mountain that surrounds the snow-packed town of Saddle-string takes a horrifying turn when his beloved foster daughter is kidnapped. Now it's personal, and Joe will stop at nothing to get her back. Steeped in the sharp cliffs and the brutal wilderness of the Wyoming landscape, Winterkill is a masterful performance, darkly compelling and utterly unforgettable. With prose that 'tears forward like a brushfire' (People), C.J. Box places all the elements of a classic mystery in a setting where the dangerous beauty of one of America's last frontiers play accomplice to the darkest of human motives.

Listen to an Audiobook Excerpt of Winterkill


Buy Winterkill Today

The reviews are in...

"...one of mystery's most exciting new talents..."

Barnes & Noble



"Tip of the Ice Pick Award"

Bookpage (Mystery of the Month)


"Recommended, especially for fans of Nevada Barr and Tony Hillerman."

Library Journal


"Author C.J. Box is Mystery's Newest Hit"

Jackson (MS) County Ledger


"...unexpected pleasures."

St. Louis Post-Dispatch


"Box keeps the suspense high through a final showdown - and beyond."

South Florida Sun-Sentinal (AP)

"Four Stars..."

Book Magazine


"...one of the best new voices in the mystery game."

Rocky Mountain News

"...superb mystery series..."

Booklist (starred review)

"...a must-read..."



"Winterkill will have you grabbing another blanket."

USA Today


"Perfect... explosive climax..."

Boulder Daily Camera


"Box writes vividly..."

Denver Post

"...strong ...vivid..."

Houston Chronicle

"A superb mystery series..."

Booklist (starred review)