OFF THE GRID Wins 2017 Spur Award for Best Contemporary Novel

WWA announces 2017 Spur Award winners

...Since 1953, Western Writers of America has promoted and honored the best in Western literature with the annual Spur Awards, selected by panels of judges. Awards, for material published last year, are given for works whose inspiration, image and literary excellence best represent the reality and spirit of the American West...

...New York Times best-selling mystery writer C.J. Box picked up his first Spur. Previously honored with the Edgar Alan Poe Award from Mystery Writers of America in 2009, the Western Heritage Wrangler Award from the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in 2016, and countless other awards, Box won in the Contemporary Western Novel for Off the Grid, one of his popular novels about Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett. Box’s first novel in that series, Open Season, was a Spur finalist in 2002.

Details here:

Check Out The Cover Of VICIOUS CIRCLE...

The past comes back to haunt game warden Joe Pickett and his family with devastating effect in the thrilling new novel from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author.
The plane circled in the dark. Joe Pickett could just make out down below a figure in the snow and timber, and then three other figures closing in. There was nothing he could do about it. And Joe knew that he might be their next target.
            The Cates family had always been a bad lot. Game warden Joe Pickett had been able to strike a fierce blow against them when the life of his daughter April had been endangered, but he’d always wondered if there’d be a day of reckoning. He’s not wondering any longer. Joe knows they’re coming after him and his family now. He has his friend Nate by his side, but will that be enough this time? All he can do is prepare . . . and wait for them to make the first move.

Publication day: March 21, 2017


CJ Box Wins 2016 Western Heritage Award for Literature

The National Cowboy Museum and Western Heritage Center in Oklahoma City awarded its 2016 Literature Award to C.J. Box for Endangered (2015).

You can view his acceptance speech via the Wrangler Network here:

Past winners for this award have included The Poacher’s Daughter by Michael Zimmer (Five Star/Cengage Gale) in 2015, The Son by Philipp Meyer (HarperCollins) in 2014, Unbroke Horses  by D.B. Jackson (Goldsminds Publishing) in 2013, rode by Thomas Fox Averill (University of New Mexico) in 2012, Impatient with Desire by Gabrielle Burton (Hyperion Books) in 2011, and The Sundown Chaser by Dusty Richards (Berkley) in 2010.


Off The Grid Debuts at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller List

Off the Grid, the 16th Joe Pickett novel, debuted at #1 on the New York Times Book Review for Hardcover Fiction on March 27, 2016.  It also debuted at #1 on Bookscan and Publishers Weekly the same week.

Additionally, Off The Grid debuted at #3 for E-Book Best Sellers on the New York Times and #2 for Combined Print and E-Book Best Sellers.

A sincere thank you to all the readers for making this happen.

News On The Joe Pickett Television Series

There won't be one. We have withdrawn the project from the producers who were in charge of developing and placing a series.

Why? We didn't like the direction they were going. It is of paramount importance that if a Joe Pickett series is ever produced and broadcast that it maintain the characters, storylines, sequence, themes, location, and narrative integrity of the books. Naming actors "Joe Pickett" or "Marybeth" or "Nate Romanowski" and creating wholly new personalities and motivations for them in a faux-Wyoming location won't cut it.

If and when there is ever a Joe Pickett television series we owe it to our readers and ourselves to present a quality product based on the unique world of the novels - not shaped by the brand of the network or the predilections of the producers. We want to be proud of the end result.

A television series (or movie) is not the be-all and end-all for a novelist.

What is the be-all and end-all? Meeting the expectations of enthusiastic and dedicated readers of the Joe Pickett series book by book. We don't want to let you down. And we can hold out until we're absolutely assured it will be done right.